VAE EmulsionEVA  Emulsion

VAE Emulsion is an abbreviation for vinyl acetate–ethylene copolymer emulsion, which is a macromolecular emulsion, copolymerized by the high pressure emulsion polymerization method, after addition of emulsifier and initiator, with the vinyl acetate and vinyl monomer as the basic raw materials. VAE Emulsion is milk white or slight yellow in appearance. 

Vinyl acetate–ethylene copolymer is an important product in the vinyl copolymer, generally in an emulsion state with its vinyl acetate content within a range of 70%~95%, and called as VAE Emulsion.

Property of VAE EmulsionEVA  Emulsion
  • Permanent flexibility. VAE Emulsion can be regarded as an internal plasticization product of polyvinyl acetate emulsion, because it introduces the ethylene molecular chain into the polyvinyl acetate, so the acetyl does not produce continuity, the rational degree of freedom of the macromolecular chain is increased, the steric hindrance is small, the macromolecular main chain becomes soft, and the plasticizer will not migrate, ensuring permanent product softness.

  • Good acid-base resistance property. VAE Emulsion can keep stabile performance under weak acid and weak base conditions, so it will not occur demulsification when mixing it with weak acid or weak base, with wide product application.

  • Able to resist ultraviolet radiation aging. Because VAE Emulsion is an internal plasticizer with ethylene as the copolymer, the VAE polymer has internal plasticization, and the plasticizer will not migrate, thus avoiding the polymer performance aging. Therefore, VAE has good stability when exposed to ultraviolet light, and even after film formation. 

  • Miscibility. able to mix with the majority of additives, e.g. dispersant, wetting agent, anti-freezing agent, antifoaming agent, preservative and flame retardant, meeting various needs; to mix with many pigments and fillers without coagulation; directly to mix with many low-molecular and macromolecular water-soluble polymers, e.g. polyvinyl alcohol aqueous solution, polyethylene glycol aqueous solution, starch or modified starch pasting solution, sodium polyacrylate aqueous solution, polymaleic acid aqueous solution, polyoxyethylene aqueous solution, urea formaldehyde, phenolic aldehyde aqueous solution, hydroxyethyl cellulose, carboxymethyl cellulose and methyl cellulose aqueous solution; directly to mix with many other macromolecular polymer emulsions, e.g. polyvinyl acetate emulsion and polyacrylate emulsion;  directly to mix with aldehydes, esters, ketones, organic acids, polyhydric alcohols, higher alcohols, halogenated hydrocarbons and aromatic hydrocarbons, e.g. formaldehyde, glyoxal, di-butyl phthalate, di-octyl phthalate , acetic acid, carbon tetrachloride, trichloromethane, benzene, toluene, xylene, octanol, glycol, glycerin, ethyl acetate and butyl acetate.

  • Good film-forming properties, with MFFT generally lower than 5℃, so it can form film well, with good barrier property against water drops. 

  • Adhesion, with good adhesive effect on fiber, wood, paper, plastic films, aluminum foils, cements, ceramics and other products. 

Usage of VAE
  • VAE Emulsion is widely used as a base material for adhesives, with good mechanical properties, small average particle size, good equilibrium relation between creep resistance and heat sealing resistance, excellent wet viscosity and fast curing speed. VAE Emulsion has wide adhesive properties. In addition to adhesion to woods, leathers, fabrics, papers, cements, concretes, aluminum foils, galvanized steel sheets and other materials, it can also be used as a pressure-sensitive adhesive and heat-sealing adhesive, and it has uniquely excellent adhesion to some materials that are difficult to be bonded, e.g. polyethylene, polypropylene, polyvinyl chloride and polyester. 

  • VAE Emulsion can be used as the base material for coatings, such as interior and exterior wall coating, roof waterproof coating, fire retardant coating and antirust coating. VAE emulsion paint film has good foaming resistance and aging resistance, not easy to crack, and has good adhesive force with many base materials, safe and non-toxic, convenient to use. VAE emulsion paint, not only can be coated onto woods, bricks and concretes, but also can be coated onto metal, glass, paper and fabric surfaces. It has good affinity to paint, and they can be mutually painted on their surfaces.

  • Along with the growth in the living standard of citizens, people's environmental protection awareness has been gradually increased. Particularly, Beijing Environmental Protection Bureau, Municipal Development and Reform Commission and Municipal Finance Bureau, have jointly released Notice on the Charging Standards for Effluents of Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs), wherein Beijing will start to levy effluent charges on VOCs, from October 1, from 17 industrial subclasses of 5 industries including furniture making, package printing, petrochemical industry, automobile making and electronics industry. Reduction in the emissions of VOCs can greatly improve the air quality in people's living environment. 

  • The paint industry will improve their production mode, accelerate the implementation of "change from oil-based paint to water-based paint", sustainably develop environmentally-friendly water-based paints with low VOC, and reduce emissions of VOC from paint, to realize a steady transition of the enterprise to green development. This is not only responsible for paint enterprises, but also the environmental protection commitment to the whole social environment. 

  • VAE Emulsion can be used in paper processing. Along with the technological development of synthetic macromolecules, many macromolecular substances have been playing a great role in paper processing, particularly, some synthetic macromolecular emulsions have superiority in paper processing, and VAE Emulsion is one of them. VAE Emulsion is mainly used in paper dipping, paper coating and pulp addition in paper processing. It can varnish many kinds of paper, increase the dry-wet strength, roughness and glossiness and improve color stability, reduce ink printing consumption and increase the paper grade. As a pulp additive, it can be used to fabricate various non-asbestos gaskets. VAE Emulsion can also be used in special paper processing. For example, it can be used to manufacture disposable napkins, facecloths, diapers and sanitary towels by the dry-method puffing.

  • VAE Emulsion can be used as a cement modifier; cement is one of the materials with the widest application in the construction engineering. However, simple cement products are disadvantaged by easy cracking, poor water resistance, poor impact resistance and poor acid resistance, so the practical effects of cements are affected to some extent. VAE Emulsion has good water resistance, acid-base resistance and weather resistance, and its price is lower than that of similar emulsions. Therefore, it is being widely used in civil work as a mortar modified material.

QQ咨询

VAE乳液

VAE乳液是醋酸乙烯-乙烯共聚乳液的简称,是以醋酸乙烯和乙烯单体为基本原料,加入乳化剂和引发剂通过高压乳液聚合方法共聚而成的高分子乳液。VAE乳液外观呈乳白色或微黄色。

乙烯与醋酸乙烯共聚物是乙烯共聚物中最重要的产品,醋酸乙烯含量在70%~95%范围内通常呈乳液状态,称为VAE乳液。

VAE乳液性质
  • VAE乳液具有永久的柔韧性。VAE乳液可以看作是聚醋酸乙烯乳液的内增塑产品,由于它在聚醋酸乙烯分子中引入了乙烯分子链,使乙酰基产生不连续性,增加了高分子链的旋转自由度,空间阻碍小,高分子主链变得柔软,并且不会发生增塑剂迁移,保证了产品永久性柔软。

  • VAE乳液具有较好的耐酸碱性。VAE乳液在弱酸和弱碱存在条件下均能够保持稳定性能,因此它不论与弱酸或弱碱混合都不会发生破乳现象,产品应用范围较广。

  • VAE乳液能够耐紫外线老化。由于VAE乳液是采用乙烯作为共聚物的内增塑剂,使VAE聚合物具有内增塑性,增塑剂不会发生迁移,从而避免了聚合物性能老化。因此,不仅是VAE乳液对紫外线有很好的稳定性,就是VAE乳液成膜后同样也可保持这一特点。

  • VAE乳液具有良好的混容性。VAE乳液能与大多数添加剂混合,如分散剂、润湿剂、防冻剂、消泡剂、防腐剂、阻燃剂等,因而可以满足各种不同需要;VAE乳液能与许多颜料和填料混合,而不会发生凝聚现象;VAE乳液能与许多低分子和高分子水溶性聚合物直接混合,如聚乙烯醇水溶液、聚乙二醇水溶液、淀粉或改性淀粉糊化液、聚丙烯酸钠水溶液、聚马来酸水溶液、聚氧乙烯水溶液、脲醛、酚醛水溶液、羟乙基纤维素、羧甲基纤维素、甲基纤维素水溶液等;VAE乳液能与许多其它高分子聚合乳液直接混合,如聚醋酸乙烯乳液、聚丙烯酸酯乳液;VAE乳液能与醛、酯、酮、有机酸、多元醇、高级醇、卤代烃、芳香烃等直接混合,如甲醛、乙二醛、邻苯三甲酸二丁酯、邻苯二甲酸二辛酯、醋酸、四氯化碳、三氯甲烷、苯、甲苯、二甲苯、辛醇、乙二醇、丙三醇、醋酸乙酯、醋酸丁酯等。

  • VAE乳液具有良好的成膜性,MFFT一般低于5℃,因此能够很好成膜,同时皮膜对水滴有较好的阻隔性。

  • VAE乳液具有良好的粘接性,它对纤维、木材、纸张、塑料薄膜、铝箔、水泥、陶瓷等制品有很好的粘合作用。

VAE的用途
  • VAE乳液被广泛用于胶粘剂的基料,其具有很好的机械性能,乳液粒子平均粒径小,耐蠕变性与热封性之间有很好的平衡关系,有很好的湿粘性及很快的固化速度。VAE乳液具有广泛的粘接性能,除能粘接木材、皮革、织物、纸张、水泥、混凝土、铝箔、镀锌钢板等材料,还能用作压敏胶和热封胶,而且对于一些难于粘接的材料如聚乙烯、聚丙烯、聚氯乙烯、聚酯等薄膜更是具备独特优异的粘接性。

  • VAE乳液可以用作涂料的基料,作内外墙涂料、屋面防水涂料、防火涂料、防锈涂料。VAE乳胶漆涂膜耐起泡性好,耐老化不易龟裂,与多种基材有较好的附着力,安全无毒,使用方便。VAE乳胶漆不仅能够涂覆于木材、砖石和混凝土上,也能涂覆于金属、玻璃、纸、织物表面,它与油漆的亲和力也很好,可以相互在其表面上涂刷。

  • 随着国民生活水平的提高,人们的绿色环保意识逐步提高,特别是北京市环保局、市发改委、市财政局联合发布《关于挥发性有机物排污收费标准的通知》,北京市将在家具制造、包装印刷、石油化工、汽车制造、电子行业等5大行业的17个行业小类从2015年10月1日起开始征收挥发性有机物(以下简称VOCs)排污费。减少挥发性有机物的排放量,可大大改善人们居住环境的空气质量。

  • 涂料企业改进生产方式,加快实施“油改水”,持续发展低VOC的环境友好型涂料水漆,降低涂料的VOC排放量,实现企业向绿色发展平稳过渡。这不仅是为涂料企业为自己负责,更是对整个社会环境的环保承诺。

  • VAE乳液可用于纸加工。随着合成高分子技术发展,许多高分子物质在纸加工中发挥极大的作用,特别是一些合成高分子乳液在纸加工中更具有优越性,VAE乳液就是其中之一。VAE乳液在纸加工中主要用于纸张浸渍、纸张涂层和纸浆添加,其特点是能够给多种纸张上光,增加纸的干湿强度、韧性、光泽度,提高色彩稳定性,降低油墨印刷消耗量,提高纸张档次。作为纸浆添加剂,可以制作各类非石棉型垫片。VAE乳液还可以用于特种纸加工,如用干法膨化造纸制作一次性使用的餐巾、面巾、尿布、卫生巾等。

  • VAE乳液可用于水泥改性剂,水泥是建筑工程中应用最广泛的材料之一。但是单纯的水泥制品存在容易龟裂和耐水性、耐冲击力、耐酸性差的缺点,在一定程度上影响了水泥的实用效果。VAE乳液由于具有良好的耐水性、耐酸碱性和耐候性,价格也比同类其他乳液成本低,因此作为砂浆改性材料正在被广泛应用于各种土建工程中。

QQ咨询